Genera dataset

Dog daycare licence fees: what every council in England charges

The fee for a new dog day care licence at 230 of England's 286 licensing councils, each read from the council's own fee page or fees and charges schedule and linked so you can check it. Published by Genera Software and Duncan's Dog Co, licensed in Surrey since 2011.

DDuncanPublished 12 October 2026Figures checked

Key figures

  1. £181 to £1,410Like for like, the same national licence costs £181 in Portsmouth and £1,410 in Westminster: a new licence, commercial premises, 2026/27. Some councils charge less for daycare at home, from £107 in Hull.
  2. £445What the middle council charges for a new licence, taking each council's lowest figure.
  3. 16Councils where a new licence can cost £1,000 or more.
  4. 39Councils where a new licence can cost under £300.

The map

A dog daycare licence is one national licence, issued under the Animal Welfare (Licensing of Activities Involving Animals) (England) Regulations 2018 and inspected against the same Defra guidance everywhere. Each council sets the fee. The process guidance says it must be fair and may cover the application, the inspection, compliance checks and enforcement. In practice the price depends on the postcode.

Bradford: £125.30Ipswich: £131Blackpool: £140Walsall: £125 or £160Portsmouth: £181Fylde: £206Fareham: £211Hinckley and Bosworth: £222.32Melton: £233Blaby: £240Halton: £246.79Dudley: £257.97 plus vet feesNorth Warwickshire: £143.50 to £267Mansfield: £271Chelmsford: £272West Lancashire: £273.54Thanet: £276 plus vet fee if neededWatford: £214.20 to £276.30Rother: £263 to £278Wealden: £263 to £278Stoke-on-Trent: £285Mole Valley: £286.50Cumberland: £287Northumberland: £288.75Sandwell: £290Hull: £107 to £297Bolsover: £303.93Charnwood: £265.90 to £317.10Tandridge: £318Lincoln: £324Liverpool: £325Barnsley: £326.24Ashfield: £330St Helens: £330 plus vet feesTest Valley: £331Epping Forest: £331.50Chorley: £303 to £333.55South Ribble: £303 to £333.55Burnley: £221 to £334Bristol: £343Chesterfield: £344Leicester: £348Newark and Sherwood: £348Hastings: £352West Lindsey: £355East Suffolk: £357North West Leicestershire: £284 to £361Wolverhampton: £291.29 to £362.78Canterbury: £362.92Harborough: £290 to £368East Lindsey: £368Ribble Valley: £368.80Gloucester: £278 or £371Tamworth: £373Nottingham: £374Redcar and Cleveland: £239 to £388Slough: £390.40Castle Point: £390.94Newcastle-under-Lyme: £395Durham: £396Broxtowe: £400Sefton: £359 to £402South Staffordshire: £402North Devon: £403South Kesteven: £407.50Southend-on-Sea: £408Forest of Dean: £351 to £411Tewkesbury: £333 to £419Knowsley: £419Oxford: £420South Derbyshire: £424Rugby: £175 to £425Horsham: £429Winchester: £378 to £430Coventry: £432Rossendale: £435Central Bedfordshire: £421 to £436North Somerset: £312.50 to £437Pendle: £438Braintree: £439Wirral: £441Redbridge: £443Hart: £318 or £444Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole: £447Somerset: £281 to £448East Devon: £450North East Lincolnshire: £450Calderdale: £409 or £450.40Darlington: £281 to £451Wakefield: £408 to £451Brighton and Hove: £451Gedling: £400 to £453Ashford: £453Basildon: £234.50 to £453.50North Yorkshire: £355 to £455Adur and Worthing: £456Harlow: £365 to £460Nuneaton and Bedworth: £465Stafford: £468Erewash: £469.50North Tyneside: £270 to £476Hartlepool: £380 to £480Lichfield: £480Dartford: £481Brentwood: £485Cherwell: £485Oadby and Wigston: £485Rochford: £485King's Lynn and West Norfolk: £336 to £490Stockport: £440 to £490High Peak: £400 to £500Staffordshire Moorlands: £400 or £500Surrey Heath: £440 to £503Bury: £368.50 to £504.50York: £287 to £505Elmbridge: £432 or £510East Hampshire: £510Folkestone and Hythe: £361.10 to £510.40Cannock Chase: £511.70Barking and Dagenham: £511.73Tameside: £422 to £514West Suffolk: £356.40 to £515.99North Kesteven: £436.80 to £517.60Telford and Wrekin: £520North Northamptonshire: £524Hertsmere: £436 to £532Westmorland and Furness: £534Dorset: £538.50Thurrock: £541Trafford: £493 to £546Boston: £546.10Reigate and Banstead: £501 or £554East Hertfordshire: £554Ealing: £467.65 to £554.21West Northamptonshire: £554.80Tower Hamlets: £563Colchester: £565Warwick: £433 to £572Cheshire West and Chester: £471 to £574Brent: £450 to £575Runnymede: £575Birmingham: £577Stroud: £579Mid Sussex: £587Fenland: £432 to £591Stevenage: £457 to £591Hackney: £593Salford: £495 to £599Cheltenham: £600Spelthorne: £600Welwyn Hatfield: £510 to £605Maidstone: £590 to £605Basingstoke and Deane: £483 to £606Woking: £608South Norfolk and Broadland: £480 to £610Babergh and Mid Suffolk: £618Rushcliffe: £620Lancaster: £428 to £621North Hertfordshire: £526.75 to £621.25Warrington: £622.51Dover: £460 to £625Norwich: £577 to £627Camden: £632Shropshire: £562 to £634North Norfolk: £576.45 to £634.06Harrow: £637Rushmoor: £638.57Stratford-on-Avon: £492 to £639Huntingdonshire: £320 to £640Bassetlaw: £459 to £642Bedford: £643Broxbourne: £579 to £648Croydon: £651Amber Valley: £655.20Plymouth: £579 to £657Crawley: £659.10Cheshire East: £662South Holland: £536.55 to £669.90Havering: £674South Oxfordshire: £676.50Vale of White Horse: £676.50St Albans: £688Derby: £533 to £689Windsor and Maidenhead: £518.40 to £696Solihull: £450 to £697Cornwall: £395 to £705Rochdale: £504.30 to £708.10Buckinghamshire: £719Wandsworth: £719Tonbridge and Malling: £655 to £721Breckland: £576 to £724Sevenoaks: £728Eastleigh: £730Greenwich: £737.18Leeds: £490.40 to £740.25Lambeth: £749.53Hillingdon: £529 to £765Wiltshire: £395 to £774Herefordshire: £775Maldon: £811Rutland: £402 to £817Milton Keynes: £820Southwark: £773.90 to £830.60Arun: £833Swindon: £420 to £840Waverley: £867.60Wyre: £540 to £868Havant: £655 to £885Peterborough: £699.60 to £898.70Epsom and Ewell: £665 to £915Oldham: £816 to £955Medway: £560 to £965Haringey: £759 to £968East Cambridgeshire: £408 to £983Tunbridge Wells: £710 to £1,000Mid Devon: £741 to £1,012Enfield: £944 to £1,016Wokingham: £1,019Lewisham: £1,043Bromley: £722 to £1,048Bath and North East Somerset: £1,089Gravesham: £1,120, plus a vet inspectionGuildford: £1,164.50Kingston: £994 to £1,183Bexley: £1,259 (estimate)Hounslow: £498 to £1,308.50Kensington and Chelsea: £1,202 to £1,350Hammersmith and Fulham: £1,079 or £1,363Westminster: £1,410Kirklees: £819 to £1,951New licence feeUnder £300£300 to £449£450 to £599£600 to £899£900 and over
New dog daycare licence fee at 230 English councils, checked September and October 2026. Each dot sits near the council's licensed daycares or its main town, coloured by the highest new-licence figure the council gives. Positions are approximate. England outline from the Office for National Statistics, Open Government Licence, contains OS data, Crown copyright and database right 2023.

By region

New dog daycare licence fees by region (each council's lowest figure)
RegionCouncilsMiddle feeCheapestDearest
London25£719Redbridge, £443Westminster, £1,410
South East51£501Portsmouth, £181Guildford, £1,164.50
East of England35£457Ipswich, £131East Cambridgeshire, £408 to £983
West Midlands23£432Walsall, £125 or £160Herefordshire, £775
North West29£422Blackpool, £140Oldham, £816 to £955
South West18£411.50Gloucester, £278 or £371Bath and North East Somerset, £1,089
East Midlands33£400Hinckley and Bosworth, £222.32Rutland, £402 to £817
Yorkshire and The Humber10£381.50Hull, £107 to £297Kirklees, £819 to £1,951
North East6£284.88Redcar and Cleveland, £239 to £388Hartlepool, £380 to £480

Every council

Cheapest first, by the lowest figure each council gives. Where a council prices by the number of dogs or the length of the licence, the whole range is shown. Some add a vet's inspection on top; the notes say where.

230 of 230
What a new dog daycare licence costs at 230 English councils
HullYorkshire and The HumberNew licence£107 to £297What it coversCommercial premises £208 (1 year) or £297 (2 years); daycare at home £107 or £138. Prices exclude VAT. 2026/27.Checked12 October 2026 (by hand)SourceCouncil page
WalsallWest MidlandsNew licence£125 or £160What it covers£125 is the line for 'home boarding and day care for dogs', which may mean daycare at home. A commercial day care may pay the £160 boarding line. The page gives no fee year.Checked12 October 2026 (by hand)SourceCouncil page
BradfordYorkshire and The HumberNew licence£125.30What it coversSingle 'Animal boarding' fee, which the council says covers day care for dogs. The page does not say whether this is the whole licence or the application fee. 2026/27.Checked12 October 2026 (by hand)SourceCouncil page
IpswichEast of EnglandNew licence£131What it covers£83 application plus £48 on grant, new or renewal. The schedule the council's fees page links prints no fee year (it is dated 2024).Checked12 October 2026 (by hand)SourceCouncil page
BlackpoolNorth WestNew licence£140What it coversSingle application fee for the animal boarding licence, which the page says covers day care for dogs. The council notes the fee is subject to change and the page gives no fee year; its 2022/23 fee schedule shows the same £140.Checked12 October 2026 (by hand)SourceCouncil page
North WarwickshireWest MidlandsNew licence£143.50 to £267What it covers£143.50 is the home boarders line; the council does not say day care at home falls under it. Commercial boarding, which covers day care, from £267.Checked12 October 2026 (by hand)SourceCouncil page
RugbyWest MidlandsNew licence£175 to £425What it coversDog day care line, from the council's 2026/27 schedule, which is marked proposed. Vet fees are excluded.Checked12 October 2026 (by hand)SourceCouncil page
PortsmouthSouth EastNew licence£181What it coversSingle application or renewal fee of £181 for commercial dog day care, the same as home boarding or home daycare for dogs. 2026/27 fee table.Checked12 October 2026 (by hand)SourceCouncil page
FyldeNorth WestNew licence£206What it covers£206 for a one-year licence, £359 for three years, new or renewal. Taken from the boarding licence, which the council says includes day care.Checked12 October 2026 (by hand)SourceCouncil page
FarehamSouth EastNew licence£211What it covers£211 is the Animal Boarding Establishment fee, which the council says includes doggy day care. Home-based day care may pay the £161 home rate.Checked12 October 2026 (by hand)SourceCouncil page
WatfordEast of EnglandNew licence£214.20 to £276.30What it coversBy licence length. A mid-licence inspection fee may also apply. From January 2026.Checked12 October 2026 (by hand)SourceCouncil page
BurnleyNorth WestNew licence£221 to £334What it coversListed as 'Dog Creche New': £128 initial inspection fee plus a grant fee of £93 (1 year), £168 (2 years) or £206 (3 years). Renewals are £218 to £330. 2026/27.Checked12 October 2026 (by hand)SourceCouncil page
Hinckley and BosworthEast MidlandsNew licence£222.32What it coversTaken from the council's boarding licence, which it says covers dog day care. The council says vets' fees may be charged where applicable. 2026/27.Checked12 October 2026 (by hand)SourceCouncil page
MeltonEast MidlandsNew licence£233What it coversNon-domestic day care only; daycare at home is not priced. The page gives no fee year.Checked12 October 2026 (by hand)SourceCouncil page
BasildonEast of EnglandNew licence£234.50 to £453.50What it covers£234.50 for day care inside a home to £453.50 for a boarding establishment that includes day care. From a Licensing Committee fees paper. 2026/27.Checked12 October 2026 (by hand)SourceCouncil page
Redcar and ClevelandNorth EastNew licence£239 to £388What it covers£110 application plus an annual compliance fee. If the compliance fee is charged every year, a three-year licence costs more over its life. The page does not name day care.Checked12 October 2026 (by hand)SourceCouncil page
BlabyEast MidlandsNew licence£240What it coversPlus vet fees where needed. 2026/27.Checked2 October 2026SourceCouncil page
HaltonNorth WestNew licence£246.79What it coversSingle licence fee listed for dog day care; vet fees are only noted for breeding and horse hiring. The page gives no fee year and its wording dates from the 2018 rollout, so the figure may be out of date.Checked12 October 2026SourceCouncil page
DudleyWest MidlandsNew licence£257.97 plus vet feesWhat it coversSingle new application fee of £257.97 plus vet's fees, which are charged on top. Renewal is £235.08 plus vet's fees. Fee year not stated on the page.Checked12 October 2026SourceCouncil page
RotherSouth EastNew licence£263 to £278What it coversThe council's day care page gives a fee of £263, but its own split (£253 processing fee plus £25 on issue) adds up to £278, so the exact total is unclear. Vet costs extra if a veterinary inspection is needed. Year not stated.Checked12 October 2026SourceCouncil page
We could not find a published fee for 56 councils. They are listed below with the reason. If you know the fee for one of them, or a figure here has changed, email info@generasoftware.com and we will add it with the date.

What you pay over time

The licence fee is paid again at every renewal, and how often depends on the star rating. A one or two star licence lasts a year, three or four stars two years, and five stars three years. Over three years a five-star daycare pays once; a two-star daycare pays three times. See how ratings fall in your area in the star ratings by council, and what the higher standards cost in the five-star cost calculator.

Questions owners ask

QHow much is a dog daycare licence in England?
It depends on the council. Across the 230 English councils in our table, a new dog day care licence for commercial premises costs from £181 in Portsmouth to £1,410 in Westminster, and the middle council charges about £445. Some councils add a vet's inspection on top.
QWhy do dog daycare licence fees vary so much?
The licence is national, but each council sets its own fee to recover its costs: processing the application, the inspection, compliance visits and enforcement against unlicensed businesses. Some charge by the number of dogs or the length of the licence, some charge one flat fee, and some send a vet and charge for it.
QDo I pay the licence fee every year?
You pay when the licence is granted and again when it is renewed. A one or two star licence lasts a year, three or four stars two years, and five stars three years, so a well-rated daycare pays less often. Many councils charge less to renew than for a new licence.

Councils without a published fee

  • Preston. A figure of £840 appears in a search summary of the council's page, but the page itself would not open for us to confirm it.
  • Chichester. A figure of £410 to £595 appears in a search summary of the council's page, but the page itself would not open for us to confirm it.
  • Manchester. A figure of £167 to £307 appears in a search summary of the council's page, but the page itself would not open for us to confirm it.
  • Blackburn with Darwen. A figure of £375 appears in a search summary of the council's page, but the page itself would not open for us to confirm it.
  • East Staffordshire. A figure of £374 appears in a search summary of the council's page, but the page itself would not open for us to confirm it.
  • Great Yarmouth. A figure of £583 appears in a search summary of the council's page, but the page itself would not open for us to confirm it.
  • Newcastle. A figure of £150 appears in a search summary of the council's page, but the page itself would not open for us to confirm it.
  • Derbyshire Dales. The homepage loads but every licensing, fees and documents page returns HTTP 403 to automated requests, so the 2026-27 fees document could not be read.
  • Sutton. The fees page lists boarding only as home (£522 + £472 new) or commercial kennels and catteries (£711 + £472 new) with no day care line and no statement of which applies, and the site now blocks automated access so this could not be rechecked.
  • Rotherham. The council site has no animal licensing or boarding fee page in its sitemap, and the committee papers site holding the 2026-27 fees appendix refuses connections.
  • South Tyneside. The council site and its committee papers site returns a Cloudflare bot check (HTTP 403) on every page, so no fee page could be read.
  • Torbay. The council website refuses connections and its committee papers site returns HTTP 403, so no fee page could be read.
  • Bracknell Forest. Fees are set by the Public Protection Partnership, whose site and committee papers block automated access (HTTP 403 or refused connection), so the application plus hourly granting fee could not be confirmed.
  • Doncaster. The council site, its 2026/27 fees PDF and its committee papers site all sit behind a bot check (HTTP 403), so the boarding licence fee that covers day care could not be read.
  • Middlesbrough. The council site returns a Cloudflare bot check (HTTP 403) on every page and its committee papers site sits behind an Azure WAF challenge, so no fee page could be read.
  • Torridge. The council site and its committee papers site returns a Cloudflare bot check (HTTP 403) on every page, so no fee page could be read.
  • Reading. Reading lists providing day care for dogs as a licensable activity, but its fee table has no day care line (only catteries and kennels £751 and home boarders £507 or £550) and does not say which applies.
  • Worcestershire. The county council is not the licensing authority; Worcestershire Regulatory Services handles licences for the six districts and its animal activity page publishes no fee, so there is no single county figure.
  • Sunderland. The council publishes an animal licensing fees page, but the site returns a Cloudflare bot check (HTTP 403) on every page, so the figure could not be read.
  • Wigan. The council site blocks every fetch with a Cloudflare check and its committee papers site sits behind an Azure WAF challenge, so no fee could be read.
  • Barnet. Fees are in an Animal Licence Fees and Charges PDF on barnet.gov.uk, but the site and its committee papers site return HTTP 403 to every automated request.
  • West Berkshire. Licensing runs through the Public Protection Partnership, whose site and the West Berkshire committee papers block automated access, so the 2026/27 day care fee could not be confirmed from the source.
  • Gateshead. The council site returns a Cloudflare bot check (HTTP 403) on every page and its committee papers site sits behind an Azure WAF challenge; a boarding fee of £360.45 seen earlier in search snippets has no line naming day care.
  • Swale. The council site returns a Cloudflare bot check (HTTP 403) on every page and its committee papers site sits behind an Azure WAF challenge, so no fee page could be read.
  • West Devon. The council site returns a human verification page (HTTP 405) on every fetch, so no fee page could be read.
  • Bolton. The 2026-27 licensing fees list home boarding (£137) and non-home boarding establishments (£274) under the old Acts, with no dog day care line and nothing saying which applies to day care.
  • Lewes and Eastbourne. The councils' site returns a Cloudflare bot check (HTTP 403) on every page and the committee papers site sits behind an Azure WAF challenge, so the £183.75 application figure seen in search-index text could not be confirmed with its grant part.
  • South Cambridgeshire. The fee table has rows only for kennels and catteries (from £364 new plus maintenance) and home boarding (£267 new plus maintenance) with no day care line, and does not say which applies to dog day care.
  • North Lincolnshire. The council site returns a bot verification page or refuses connection for every fetch, so no fee page could be read.
  • Luton. Luton's animal boarding licence page (which covers dog day care) and its application form publish no fee, and no licensing fee schedule was found on the council site.
  • Merton. Merton's animal licences page confirms day care is licensable but shows no fee; the fee is only shown inside the Regulatory Services Hub application, and no Merton fee schedule lists it.
  • Cambridge. Cambridge lists day care for dogs as licensable but its fee table has only an 'Animal boarding' heading and does not say that heading covers day care, so we cannot attribute a figure.
  • Three Rivers. The council's fees schedule from 12 January 2026 lists Dog Day Care (Commercial) at £351 new applicant, £561 for a 2 year licence and £838 for a 3 year licence, but does not say whether these add together, so the total for a new licence cannot be stated without guessing.
  • Gosport. Gosport's website blocks automated access and its committee site search returned no animal licence fee schedule; the first pass found no figure on the boarding page or in the 2026 fees report.
  • East Riding. The day care licence page gives no fee (payment is taken at the end of the online form) and the site now sits behind a captcha, so no fee schedule could be checked.
  • Islington. The animal boarding and day care licence page publishes no fee, and no animal licence fee page exists among the council's published licensing fee pages.
  • South Gloucestershire. The animal licensing page confirms day care is licensable but publishes no fee and directs applicants to the animal health team by email.
  • Stockton. Council website blocks automated access (bot check or 403) and its committee papers site was unreachable or blocked too, so no council page could be opened to confirm a fee.
  • West Oxfordshire. Council website blocks automated access (bot check or 403) and its committee papers site was unreachable or blocked too, so no council page could be opened to confirm a fee.
  • Cotswold. The council has a specific 'Providing Day Care for Dogs' fee, but its website and meetings site both block automated access, so the figure could not be read.
  • Exeter. Council website blocks automated access (bot check or 403) and its committee papers site was unreachable or blocked too, so no council page could be opened to confirm a fee.
  • South Hams. Council website blocks automated access (bot check or 403) and its committee papers site was unreachable or blocked too, so no council page could be opened to confirm a fee.
  • Southampton. The council website sits behind an Imperva security check that blocks automated access, and no other council source for the fee could be reached.
  • Teignbridge. Council website blocks automated access (bot check or 403) and its committee papers site was unreachable or blocked too, so no council page could be opened to confirm a fee.
  • Waltham Forest. The animal welfare licence pages publish no fees and there is no dog day care page; the site now also sits behind a bot check.
  • Tendring. Tendring's 2026/27 animal licence fees list only kennels and home boarding of dogs, and its boarding page does not say either line covers day care.
  • Uttlesford. Council website blocks automated access (bot check or 403) and its committee papers site was unreachable or blocked too, so no council page could be opened to confirm a fee.
  • Newham. The Doggy Day-care Licence page says the cost depends on star rating but publishes no figure and asks applicants to email or phone.
  • North East Derbyshire. Council website blocks automated access (bot check or 403) and its committee papers site was unreachable or blocked too, so no council page could be opened to confirm a fee.
  • Hyndburn. The animal boarding licence page gives no fee and the only environmental health fees document on the site dates from January 2012.
  • Dacorum. The council website and committee papers refused every connection during this pass, so no current fee could be confirmed.
  • City of London. The January 2026 Animal Health fees report's fee schedule appendix could not be retrieved, and no City of London animal licensing fee page was found.
  • Richmond. The application form refers to a separate fee guide that is not published online; no day care fee appears on the council site.
  • New Forest. The animal licence page blocks automated access (403) and the committee site was unreachable, so the £444 figure seen in search-index text could not be confirmed.
  • Sheffield. Sheffield's fee table has no day care row and says fees are provided on application; the site now also sits behind a bot check.
  • Isle of Wight. Council website blocks automated access (bot check or 403) and its committee papers site was unreachable or blocked too, so no council page could be opened to confirm a fee.

How we gathered this

The first 44 councils were checked by hand between 22 September and 11 October 2026 for the Genera Licensing Report 2026. The rest were read from each council's own fee page or fees and charges schedule on 12 October 2026. We took the total for a new dog day care licence, adding the application and grant parts where a council splits them. Where a council has no day care line but says its boarding licence covers day care, we used the boarding fee and say so. Only council sources are used; a figure seen only in a search summary is listed as not found until the council page can be read.

Fees change, usually each April. Each row shows the date we read it and links to the council page, so check there before you apply. The statutory guidance on fees is in the Defra licensing process guidance.

Sources

  1. Animal activity licensing process: statutory guidance for local authorities (Defra)What a council's fee may cover.
  2. The council fee pages, one per row in the table (230)
D

Duncan

Founder of Genera and owner of Duncan's Dog Co

Duncan has run Duncan's Dog Co, a licensed dog daycare in Surrey, since 2011. Genera is the software he built to run it, shaped by what actually works day to day, not theory.

Where Genera comes in

Genera is the booking and invoicing software Duncan built to run his own licensed daycare. It holds you to the daily numbers on your licence and keeps every dog's vaccination dates where an inspector can see them.